Skip to content

Bibliographic Maneuvers in the Dark

August 15, 2012
Here’s the preamble. I’ve been importing my thesis references into bibliographic software recently. First, I reorganized my Refworks references online and then exported them to Mendeley. Next, I imported all the pdf files I have stored in my DropBox. Next, I searched for duplicates and merged the RefWorks records with the corresponding PDFs. Once this was done, I started re-organizing the references into themed folders. Last week, I tested out Zotero by converting my PDF annotations into Zotero notes. I did this manually for two references and it was laborious because the PDF text has carriage returns, so I had to put it through my text editor first. This testing made me realize that I needed to automate the process or just give up on it. Today I came across a cool little add-in for Zotero. It’s called ZotFile : http://www.jlegewie.com/zotfile.html. It has lots of functionality but the main one that interests me is shown in the extract below. I think this may be the solution to my PDF annotation problems. I hope it works! UPDATE: The Zotfile plugin worked for me, but I had to use it with the Firefox version of Zotero rather than the Standalone version.

★ Extract Annotations from PDF Files After highlighting and annotating pdfs on your tablet (or with the PDF reader application on your computer), ZotFile can automatically extract the highlighted text and note annotations from the pdf. The extracted text is saved in a Zotero note. Thanks to Joe Devietti, this feature is now available on all platforms based on the pdf.js library.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

